Little things.

I know I’ve posted on this before.

Today I had a great “carpe kairos” day.

If you don’t know what I am talking about – here are two things that will help you.

#1 What is Kairos? Here is the Wikipedia definition:

“Kairos is an ancient Greek word meaning the right or opportune moment (the supreme moment). The ancient Greeks had two words for time, chronos and kairos. While the former refers to chronological or sequential time, the latter signifies a time in between, a moment of indeterminate time in which something special happens. What the special something is depends on who is using the word. While chronos is quantitative, kairos has a qualitative nature.”

#2 http://momastery.com/blog/2012/01/04/2011-lesson-2-dont-carpe-diem/  This woman, Glennon, is wonderful. READ this, if you never read another thing in your life. Especially you parents or grandparents.

Now, on to MY kairos’es.

I had to wake up my son to go on a camp field trip today. He is like his dad – he likes to wake up slowly, lounge in bed half awake, half asleep. He likes to get all tangled up in his blanket and enjoy it. When I woke him up he gave me a look like the queen of hearts when she says “OFFFFFF with her head!” But on the days I do actually have to wake him up, I sing “good morning sunshine” to him. My mom used to sing it to me too. It helps. He asked for “just five more minutes” and as I walked into the other room to grant his request I heard him singing that song to his stuffed animals too.

When I dropped him off at camp he ran to me and hugged me as hard as he could as I was on my way out.

At Karate he did really well. Except the part where he stood picking his nose for like 2 minutes straight. It reminded me he is still a kiddo – and I love that.

After relaxing a bit we went out to jump on the trampoline. Mostly he jumped and I enjoyed the evening air. And we looked at airplanes going over head. Then we lay on the trampoline together and looked at clouds and tried to find shapes. He lay with his feet on my legs and one hand in my hair. The sun was just starting to set so the sky was brilliant blue and the clouds were reflecting the late evening golden light. It was beautiful. And we found a mummy in the clouds – which almost NEVER happens.

When I put him to bed he wanted to snuggle a bit. And I did. I miss snuggling him to sleep – I know he has to go to sleep on his own. But I miss it as much as he does.

Ah, my beautiful boy. Thank you for making my life so livable.

 

Edit: ALSO, my MIL forgot our garage fridge – which we use for food storage mostly – big freezer in it – has died. She went to Sam’s Club tonight (her favorite store) and bought 60 eggo waffles for $10. Which is a great deal. And it was nice of her since my son is the only one who eats them. But us trying to fit them in the already full mini freezer inside? HILARIOUS.

Leave a Reply

