Tell it like it is, sista!

You know what?

I don’t have time to worry about hurting your feelings. That’s right. I have my own life.

Cancer has given me many things. One of them is the ability to prioritize. 

There are a lot of things I worried about before cancer that I don’t anymore. Bills. I stopped worrying about bills about 3 years ago. My cancer doc said to lower my stress. Bills stress me to the max. So now my husband does our bills and tells me how much I have for food, gas, etc. 

Another thing I don’t worry about anymore? How people feel about what I say and do.

I am very opinionated. I am also fairly severe in my beliefs, morals, and even my hopes and dreams. I tell it like it is. If you don’t like it, don’t listen. 

I try not to tell other people what they “should” and “should not” feel or think or do. I try not to push my beliefs or opinions on others. I have been in a position most of my life to have people “pushing” their agendas on me, and I never liked it. If you want to talk about stress – there it is. In fact, with my family I often just don’t talk about certain topics at all and we all have silently agreed to disagree. 

If I feel strongly about something, however, if I feel that there is a wrong that needs righted, I will not be afraid to speak up. I will not be worried about how someone will feel about what I say. I will stand up for what I feel is right and good and necessary in this world. 

Telling it like it is requires many things. One of the biggest things it requires is knowing that life is short, you may only have this moment. If you feel like something needs to be said, say it. Whether it’s “I love you,” or “stop hurting me”, or “taking other people’s rights away is wrong,” or simply “I need help.” 

Say it.

 

Leave a Reply

