Climbing Out of The Pit

I haven’t been on in a while. I have been going through a grumpy, feeling bad for myself, wallowing, frustrated period. I know, we all have those. We do. It’s normal. And I’ve not snapped out of it yet. But, I have started to climb out tooth and nail, dragging my body up the steep slopes. It takes time. And work.

So, I decided to share a few of the things that have given me that extra PULL when I needed it this week.

First: Tonight at my son’s Karate testing, his dad was able to come. It’s the first time he has been able to get away from work for it (we’ve had 3 in the last year). He snuck in just as it was starting and sat quietly in the chair I had saved, and when our son turned around to bow to his parents “to show respect” like they do every class, he saw his dad. The look of pure joy that came over his face made my heart swell. He loves his dad so much. Dad works a lot to provide for us. Sometimes that means missing out on things. But this time he was there and my son was so excited he almost forgot to bow and waved first, then bowed as he snapped back to what he was supposed to do. I love those little perfect moments.

Second: I finally – no – FIN A LLY had good tests back from my cancer check ups. Not perfect, but very very good. For the first time in 6 years. I feel like I can breathe just a little about that one subject. (you would think that alone would pull me right up out of that pit, but no – I was pretty deep)

Third: This poem.

Fourth: This video.

Fifth: Love. The love of my family.

Love wins. Every time. It just takes a little while to really sink in sometimes.

One thought on “Climbing Out of The Pit

Leave a Reply

