Being Myself

So, it’s kind of funny. I have always spoken my mind, I have always been open about my feelings. 

Never until social media entered my life did I find a way to be as open as I wanted as often as I wanted. And let me tell you, it doesn’t always turn out the way I would like. There have been a few friends I should not have become face book friends with, and there have been a  few family members who really got to know the real me whether I wanted them to or not.

I have even “lost a few friends” on social media. 

But here’s the thing. I don’t want to stop being me. I like expressing myself and telling people how I feel about stuff. And I like hearing what other people feel too, and once in a while deciding I need to re-examine my own views and make sure I don’t need to change my views a little. And I even like a lively debate with people who don’t feel the same way I do. Because it gives me a chance to make sure that my argument really is solid in my mind. 

Recently I really considered whether or not I need to take a step back and stop being so personal and so open with my views. 

I decided no. No I don’t. I need to continue being myself and standing up for what I believe in. And I will tell you why.

I don’t see myself as some big part of any movement. I don’t see myself as integral to the civil rights movement (gay rights, women’s rights, immigration rights, etc) I don’t see anything falling down because I am not there shoring it up. I don’t see myself as changing our rape culture single handedly.

What I do see is that no movement has made any strides because people stayed quiet. The suffragettes didn’t make headway by going home and embroidering when people told them to. The black rights movement didn’t change history by deciding NOT to go sit at the lunch counter, or by NOT marching , or by NOT having rallys or by NOT being arrested. 

The world will change with me or without me. And it might change in ways I don’t like whether I am there screaming as loud as I can or not.

But I will be damned if I will just sit by and wait and watch and be quiet about those things I truly care about. Or if I will tolerate hatred and bigotry from my friends without saying anything about it. I will be damned if I just go home and embroider when I make people uncomfortable.

This is who I am. I am proud of it. If you don’t like it, that’s ok. Nothing says you have to.

I do. And that’s all that matters. 

 

Leave a Reply

